Speed bumps and intro

New to the F-Type Forum? Please introduce yourself here
Vroom

Post by Vroom »

Hi,
I’m new to Jaguar and the forum. Had my F type for less than a week - love it! Ammonite grey convertible V6 380. Black pack, winter package.
I’m going to an area with lots of speed bumps. Should I be worried about grounding?
V6 R Dynamic convertible. Corris grey. 2017.Winter pack. Black pack. Rear camera.

philmayfield

Post by philmayfield »

The plastic thingy under the air dam can hit the bump if you're too fast. They are expendable and easy to replace. I even had to have ramps to get on to a Scottish Ferry!
mickjaguar

Post by mickjaguar »

Never had a problem with speed bumps when taken relatively slowly. Steep road camber is more tricky. There's a T junction when I leave work where I can't turn right 90 degrees and have to perform and imaginery mini roundabout, by going slighly left out of the junction to then sweep round to the right, to avoid grounding the nose spoiler.

https://www.examiner.co.uk/news/west-yo ... pe-9633607
2019 SVR Coupe, Velocity Blue
Previous 2015 V6 340 Coupe IRR
Vroom

Post by Vroom »

Thanks for that mickjaguar. The Examiner item is worrying!
V6 R Dynamic convertible. Corris grey. 2017.Winter pack. Black pack. Rear camera.
mickjaguar

Post by mickjaguar »

To be fair, in nearly two and a half years, the only place I've ground the spoiler is at the one junction near where I work. It's a fair dip onto a steep road camber so I'm careful to spot other potential situations and approach them slowly (ramps etc). Generally, it's not really a problem and there a some guys on here with lowered springs.
2019 SVR Coupe, Velocity Blue
Previous 2015 V6 340 Coupe IRR
philmayfield

Post by philmayfield »

Should you need to replace the damaged lower spoiler lips the part numbers are :-

Centre spoiler : T2R4160
RHS spoiler : C2P22211
LHS spoiler : C2P22212

They're screwed on so fitting should be easy - not that I've had to do it myself yet!