Dashcam Installation

Anything F-Type related......
simpleR

Post by simpleR »

Newbie here. Has anyone got front and rear dashcams installed?

I have two nextbase 212 dashcams to install into new car and wondered if anyone had documented where to hide cables and connectivity to usb slots or fuse box with pictures?

Thanks in advance
400 Sport AWD - MY18 - Black, pano roof and thats about it 8-)

daytona650

Post by daytona650 »

Piggy back fuses and the passenger footwell fuse board are your best bet.

Also You can run a 5m (decent quality) USB extension from the centre rear console to the mirror area using the window side trim without taking them off.

If your hardwiring them, finding a negative feed is the hardest bit as a lot of the existing black wires are controlled by computer and voltage can vary. In the end i drilled a small hole in the chassis by the fusebox and bolted a negative to that as the chassis is a constant neg.
2013 V6S Convertible - Salsa Red, Performance Seats, 20" Wheels, Climate Pack.
simpleR

Post by simpleR »

Ok, thanks for info. I'll get mine installed at weekend and take some photos of what goes where etc for everyone else.

Does anyone know what the HDMI port is for?
dezzy

Post by dezzy »

I have an Anker Roav dashcam (front only). It's way more discreet than any other dashcam I could find and really happy with it.

I bought a longer (4m) USB cable from Amazon as the supplied 3m one didn't reach to the 12v socket between the seats. You can squeeze the cable into the trim without removing anything as said but it's a bit easier if you remove the passenger A pillar trim. Pop out the airbag plastic cover and just loosen the allen bolt slightly. The Roav camera cane with a really good tool for fitting the cable into the trim.

I then run it along the trim under the sill cover and there's a nice split in the trim behind the passenger seat. Then into the 12v socket in the cubby hole between the seats.