Is AWD vital?

Anything F-Type related......
SJD9990

Post by SJD9990 »

Hi all,

Can anyone out there give me some advice.

About to buy. Can afford a used S AWD or R RWD. Really want the R, but bit worried about it being an all year round car given heavy rain and snow/ice in the uk. . I’m a pretty cautious driver, so won’t be going mad, bit is it just too much for every day??

Thanks.

scharlton

Post by scharlton »

Hi SJD
I bought the R as I have always wanted a V8 and the noise is just fantastic.
Yes there's a lot of torque and you can get the back out easily with a heavy right foot but I've rarely been caught out by it and it's always been easily correctly by the normal *lift off the gas* automatic reaction.
I'm no where near a fast driver and feel quite happy using it all year although with caution in the wet and cold. By the way, there's always the wet and snow button!
2014 Coupe 5.0R RWD
White
Herts
basher

Post by basher »

I've got a V6 AWD, and previously had an Audi TTS Quattro.

Personally, I wouldn't be without AWD as I'm sure it's saved me a couple of times when I've been a bit over-enthusiastic on bends! ;)
Traction from standstill will be better than RWD, for those times when you feel like flooring it! :mrgreen:

I don't have much experience of RWD... just 1 test drive in a V6. I found it very skittish. Was a very cold wet day.

In snow, AWD won't "save" you.
Yes, you'll have more traction, but tyres won't work optimally unless you have winter ones on.
And you can't legislate for other drivers and what their cars might be doing in the conditions.

If you're not a particularly fast driver, why a V8, with all that extra power which you may not even use?
Just for the noise? Have you compared the V6 to V8?
Rhodium silver F-Type 400 Sport AWD coupe.

PB Brakes big brake kit: drilled & slotted rotors, big yellow calipers. 😁
Lunar

Post by Lunar »

My opinion - on a V6 of any flavour - no.