Preparing the underside for winter

Anything F-Type related......
The Jagster

Post by The Jagster »

Well, it's time to prepare for winter roads. The gritters will be out in force no doubt in the coming weeks, so I thought that I would endeavor to preserve the areas of the car that not only get the worst of the road salt/grit, but also tend to not get washed properly during the life of the car.

The plan is to spray the underside of the car with an anti- corrosion solution. I decided I would look to the aviation and marine sector for my chosen solution because the F-Type is mostly aluminium. Aluminium doesn't corrode in the same way as the likes of, say, mild steel. I'm not an expert in these things but I have had a few recommendations from various people about the product called ACF50 by Leer Chemicals in Canada. It was developed for the aviation industrty as an anti-corrosion solution aimed at preventing corrosion around the joints and rivets of aircraft fuselages. I recently discovered that they produce a slightly heavier grade of their ACF50 product, called 'Corrosion Blocker' which is more suited to the automotive and industrial vehicle sectors.

This is the stuff:

This is the first time I have made the effort to do this kind of thing on a new-ish vehicle, but I think it will be worth the effort as I plan to keep the car long term.

My car was clean and completely dry before I started the work. It would have been even better if the car had come straight off the production line, but it is now nearly 18 months old, so I was interested to see what I would find as I stripped back the wheel arch covers.
Apart from some sandy/gritty deposits in a few nooks and crannies, I was pleasantly surprised by how good a job those plastic inner wheel arch protectors do.