Does finance APR change on cars over a year old???

Jaguar F-Type Order Forum
Haskey

Post by Haskey »

Hi,

I'm a newbie. I've had a search around but can't find the answer to my question.

I'm looking to buy a 13 month old F-Type from the dealer in Southampton with finance. They claim that if the car is a year or less old then the APR is about 5% but because it's over a year old it's now about 10% (I can't remember the exact amount). Nothing they can do as this is set by 'Jaguar'.

Is that true?

I might be able to pay off the finance after a few months (I think 3 is the minimum term) and I get a free service with that. So getting finance elsewhere doesn't really help.

Are they just playing a sales game? I'm heading in tomorrow. Any advice greatly received.

Thanks in advance.

Zyp

Post by Zyp »

Don't use dealer finance!
Easy enough to sort yourself with Oracle, Alphera etc.
Shouldn't need to pay anymore than 5.9 - 6.5% no matter how old the car is.
IRR V8R
Fez

Post by Fez »

Sounds like waffle, source you own finance.
Black AWD 400, sport
MY 18.5
Pan Roof
Heated front screen
Front parking sensors
Full spare
cj10jeeper

Post by cj10jeeper »

The answer is that Jaguar can set the finance at any rate for any age of car to whatever they want. Sometimes new is zero to shift cars or perhaps higher in rare/new models. Second hand is typically higher, so they may be correct. Where dealers are slippery is in what they offer to customers, after all they are working to margins on car and finance

If the dealer is offering Jaguar finance it is what it is, however as posted raise your own. I too have used Oracle and they are superb and usually competitive. You should ask you bank too..
2014 MY 3.0 V6S Roadster
Subtle enhancements to create the car I wanted from SVR nose cone, 400 series side skirts & customised 'design' rear bumper, to heated SVR steering wheel and more
simpleR

Post by simpleR »

I asked Jaguar and they offered a 4.9% special rate when pushed.