New to clay bars

Detailing, Washing, Waxing..
SammyV6S

Post by SammyV6S »

Hello

I've never used a clay bar before.. the videos online make it seem easy to use but I'm terrified of scratching the paint..

Is it really that safe? Anyone had any bad experiences? Or is it really as easy as wash, lubricate, gently rub the clay bar and wipe dry!?
MY2016 Coupe V6S in Italian Racing Red + Black pack, Black 20" Cyclones, black badges all round. VelocityAP valved Exhaust, black tips. Pano Roof, Sports seats, Cold Climate & Parking packs. InControl nav, Blackvue front + Rear dashcams.

Lunar

Post by Lunar »

I've not had a bad experience - I think if you take normal precautions you'll find it just fine.

I actually use a Halfords clay mitt - just oscillate gently back and forth - not in circles - and with a fairly light pressure.

Good for getting the windscreen clean too.

Once it's done its job it's remarkable how you feel the slipperiness and move on to find the next contaminant - quite therapeutic!
MY14 "S" badged V6 Convertible in Lunar Grey metallic
Performance seats, Meridian, heated flat bottom wheel with aluminium paddles, heated front screen, cruise, dual zone climate, switchable active exhaust
PhilB

Post by PhilB »

Lunar wrote: Sun Jan 20, 2019 8:38 am Once it's done its job it's remarkable how you feel the slipperiness and move on to find the next contaminant - quite therapeutic!
Come on - fess up!
Just an excuse to fondle your EFF !
:lol:
Lunar

Post by Lunar »

Ahem :D
MY14 "S" badged V6 Convertible in Lunar Grey metallic
Performance seats, Meridian, heated flat bottom wheel with aluminium paddles, heated front screen, cruise, dual zone climate, switchable active exhaust
Fez

Post by Fez »

I use bilt hamber soft clay, it is as easy as the videos show. Just make sure the car is clean before you start. Be gentle let the clay do the work. You should only need to do it once a year so depends a lot on where car is parked.
Black AWD 400, sport
MY 18.5
Pan Roof