Fitting a dash Cam to an F Type

Technical Advice, Faults and How-To Information.
Geminii

Post by Geminii »

I have noticed one or two posts regarding the fitting of dash cams or other electrical devices on an F Type.

Having recently delved behind the carpets and wiring of my 2014 V6S I decided to post up what went on just in case it helps anyone else who may be tempted in the future.

I must point out that I am not an auto electrician and any work carried out has to be at your own risk. I noticed that the Blackvue camera that I was installing had a tag on the supply lead stating that cutting the lead would invalidate the warranty!

I decided that the easiset place to find a suitable fuse location for my purpose would be the passenger footwell fuse box as it is closest to where the dash cam cable emerged from the run around the windscreen and A pillar.

The fuse board on my car is under the floor mat but I think on more modern versions it has been relocated but I am sure the principles will be similar.

Picture one

This shows what was revealed once the fuse board covers were removed. I have written on the photo but it seems to have come out in micro dot! The 2 left hand empty fuses I found were live all the time whether ingnition was on or not. They may cut off on car lock up I don't know. The arrow head is pointing at the live pin of the fuse pair.
The right hand fuse (fuse 52) is normally feeding the Centre Console external accessory socket and as this is where my origanl installtion derived power I thought this would be a good place to start. The arrow head is pointing at the 'switched live' pin of the fuse. This is live when accessories are on and when the engine is fired up.