One- shot window closing (or whatever it’s called)

Technical Advice, Faults and How-To Information.
Zyp

Post by Zyp »

First off, I’m not a newbie - couldn’t log in on my iPad under my other name (Leo’s Big Nipple) no matter what I did!

Anyway, drove the car for the first time in 7 weeks today, but noticed both windows won’t go up automatically with one pull / push of the button.
They go down ok just not up.

I’ve RTFM and tried to do as it says many times to reset, but just can’t get them to work.

Any ideas?
Engine on, engine off?
Anything .....?

Cheers
IRR V8R

Aitch

Post by Aitch »

Should work with the ignition on.

Is the battery a bit low of not used for 7 weeks.

Good to know you're on the mend anyway.
Zyp

Post by Zyp »

Thanks mate.
Still got my knee in a brace but ins co said I’m okay to drive being auto, but I still can’t physically drive our other manual cars (which are the practical ones!)

The car has been on a CTEK so the battery’s fine
Can’t understand how the windows go down automatically but not up...
IRR V8R
Aitch

Post by Aitch »

Thinking about it, I read something similar on the US site, so it may be a Nanny state thing to prevent anyone decapitating themselves.
Kiwanja

Post by Kiwanja »

It may have lost its home position, try sending the window all the way down then back to the top and when it stops operate the switch twice in the up position direction within a second. Switch off ignition and then start the car and try the window. I have had this problem and this sorted it.

Hope it helps/work...
Zyp

Post by Zyp »

I’ll try that one tomorrow, cheers.

Been playing with it for about 30 mins tonight - all permutations (except the one above) have proved fruitless.

It’s a small issue I know, but none the less, bloody annoying...

Actually one other thing that I assume is connected - I locked the car, then unlocked it and held the unlock fob button down - global opening works, but not global closing.
IRR V8R
ty27rv

Post by ty27rv »