Exhaust valves stuck closed

Technical Advice, Faults and How-To Information.
Greggors91

Post by Greggors91 »

Hello all!

Newbie here! I've seen there have been a few posts about exhaust valves but they don't quite seem relevant to thought I'd start a new thread!

I have a 2014 F-Type S with the active exhaust (whilst it does not have the exhaust button it does have the active exhaust with vacuum operated valves).

I have taken the active exhaust fuse out to try to enable loud mode all the time (hoonigan at heart), but it still really does seem quiet (very little difference between fuse in and out). I'm assuming those with a button notice a audible difference with it 'on' or 'off' at idle (with mine there seems to be no difference at idle at all when I remove or replace the fuse)

The car still has warranty (not with Jaguar) but the garage is 300 miles away and my local Jag dealership seemingly wont give anything away without bringing it into the for inspection where they will end up charging me £150 to look at the problem.

I'm wondering if others have had this and there is an easy way to try and free off the valves without removing the exhaust?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

Lunar

Post by Lunar »

It does sound stuck then - if you take the fuse out you'd definitely notice a change - even if not sure at idle, then when you pull away.

You can get to the actuators with the car on the ground - this is good because you'd need wide ramps to back it on to - and please do not get under it with a jack "just for a few seconds" - I had a 1 tonne Halfords jack buckle on me when I jacked the back end up - go figure on 1/4 of the car's total weight, even with 50/50 front-rear balance!

I'd suggest some penetrating oil and then gentle tap on the actuator rod - alternatively if you can get some wide grips or a soft jaw clamp around it and gently tighten to break the seized status.