Jaguar Remote (InControl) and Alexa

Technical Advice, Faults and How-To Information.
CyberChr1s

Post by CyberChr1s »

Hi all,

I am a senior software engineer at Microsoft. I got really bored of the slow response time of the Jaguar Remote (the new and old app). I really wanted to be able to just ask Alexa to start the car, tell me my fuel levels etc...So, over the Christmas break, I got to understanding how the Jaguar Remote app works, and built my own Alexa skill around it. Today, it supports the following commands, but I have a few more planned:

* Start/Stop the engine
* Lock/Unlock the doors
* Honk and flash the lights
What is the mileage
* Distance until empty
* Remaining fuel
* When is the next service due

The skill is currently in beta, and I am looking for as many people as possible to help me test the skill, suggest better ways of asking the questions, come up with new feature requests and ultimately provide feedback. The Alexa skill will only allow you to perform tasks that your country allows. IE, if remote start is illegal in your country, this won't enable that feature. If you think this is something that you would be interested in joining, DM me your email address that is tied to Alexa and i'll add you on. Any questions at all, please feel free to ask away!

For the other software engineers here, I actually published the API wrapper (written in C#) to GitHub and a package to NuGet (https://github.com/GreyManSoftware/JlrSharp). It's totally free to use, and I am all for accepting PRs.

Last edited by CyberChr1s on Thu Jan 09, 2020 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
MY2019 F-Type R AWD

ayrejc

Post by ayrejc »

Thanks for the excellent work. I tried to sign up in uk but says i dont have access to this skill beta testing and contact admin 😢
MY18 F Type 400 Sport Coupe RWD Satin Chrome Orange
CyberChr1s

Post by CyberChr1s »