Charge F-Type battery

Technical Advice, Faults and How-To Information.
MeKal

Post by MeKal »

Hi All,

I’m a proud F-Type 2013 V6S owner. It’s not my daily driver and sadly I don’t have as much time as I wish to enjoy it in the past few years. I do occasional journeys now and again over the weekends but sometimes it’s stationary for months.

I received recently a Low battery warning.

During the lockdown as all dealerships were shut I bought a charger online - Noco Genius10.

As I was not sure I completely removed the battery and charged it. It was a hassle.

Can I use this charger when the car is connected to the battery at the same time? Do I need to disconnect the car from the battery in order to charge it?

I’m absolute noob when it comes to electrics so please excuse my silly question!

Thanks in advance!

scm

Post by scm »

I have a CTEK MXS 5.0 and always charge the battery in the car. As you've found, it's a hassle to remove the battery, I really wouldn't do it.
MY18 F-Type V8 R AWD in Glacier White
Lots of leather and toys, and loads of noise!
NAC63

Post by NAC63 »

Most people on here use the CTEK MXS 5.0 and just leave it connected whenever the car is stood for a while
2014 V8S Convertible in black all the extras plus lots of carbon bits.
H&R lowering springs
Eibach 15mm wheel spacers
RPSN

Post by RPSN »

Hello MeKal,

Good choice of vehicle!

I and many other F-Type owners use the CTEK MXS 5.0 trickle charger which has a permanent plug-in connection in the car boot.

You should be able to wire up the Noco Genius 10 exactly the same way as the CTEK by using the M10 (10mm diameter) integrated eyelets supplied with it (don’t use the crocodile clips). This means that you’ll be able to charge the battery without removing it from the car and you simply plug in whenever need be.

The top photo shows the Noco Genius 10 wiring connections with integrated eyelets and the bottom photo shows where to connect them in the car boot.